

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO - 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 2851 (Available in English only)

To : ICG/IOTWMS Tsunami National Contacts and ICG/IOTWMS Officers

Cc : Official National Coordinating Bodies for Liaison with IOC of Member States members

of ICG/IOTWMS

Permanent Delegates/Observers Missions to UNESCO (ICG/IOTWMS Member

States)

National Commissions for UNESCO (ICG/IOTWMS Member States)

IOC Officers

Subject: Appointment of the Head of Secretariat of the Intergovernmental

Coordination Group for the Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning and

Mitigation System (ICG/IOTWMS)

I am pleased to inform you that the recruitment process for the Head of the Secretariat for the Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning and Mitigation System (ICG/IOTWMS) has been successful. After careful consideration, Mr Rick Bailey of Australia has been selected for this position. Mr Bailey's assignment starts on 16 August 2021.

Mr Bailey is well known to the tsunami community through his active engagement with ICG/IOTWMS since its establishment in 2005. First as Project Director, Australian Tsunami Warning System (2005–2009), and then as Head, Tsunami Warning & Ocean Services (2010–2017), both within the Australian Bureau of Meteorology (BOM). He made substantial contributions to the regional tsunami programme as Chair of the ICG/IOTWMS between 2010 and 2015.

I would like to extend my profound thanks to Ms Nora Gale who has acted as interim head throughout the recruitment process and will continue to support the ICG/IOTWMS Secretariat activities.

On behalf of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO, I thank you for your ongoing involvement with the IOTWMS.

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

Executive Secretary

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

Vice-Chairpersons

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE
Directrice de Recherche
Centre national de la recherche scientifique
(CNRS)
3 rue Michel Ange
75016 Paris
FRANCE

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION

Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 INDIA Dr Karim HILMI
Head of Oceanography Department
Institut National de Recherche
Halieutique (INRH)
02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane
Ain Diab
20180 Casablanca
MOROCCO

IOC/VR/BA/jao

16 August 2021