

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL МЕЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 2879 (Available in English and French)

IOC/VR/JB/TC 24 February 2022

To: IOC Member States (Official Coordinating Bodies for liaison with the IOC),

Permanent Delegates/Observer Missions to UNESCO, and National Commissions for UNESCO of IOC Member States

cc. : IOC Officers

Officers of Major IOC Subsidiary Bodies (Scientific, Technical and Regional)

Subject: Appointment of new IOC-affiliated member to the Joint IHO-IOC Guiding Committee for the General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO)

With this letter, I wish to inform you of my decision to appoint a new member to the Joint IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) pursuant to <u>IOC Circular Letter 2867</u> dated 25 November 2021 by which I informed Member States of the vacant seat on the GEBCO GC and subsequently called for nominations. As a result of this call, the Secretariat received 14 candidatures from 13 Member States to which I would like to express my gratitude.

Following a thorough review of the technical skills and experience in the field of ocean mapping of the candidates and with due consideration given to gender and geographic balance across the whole GGC membership, **Mr Paul M. Brett, Associate Vice President, Marine Institute, Research and Strategic Partnerships (Canada)**, was appointed for an initial five-year term effective immediately.

The new composition of the GGC is attached hereafter.

I thank Mr Brett for his willingness to promote international cooperation in the field of ocean mapping in his personal capacity with the support of his parent institution and all nominating Member States.

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

Enclosure: Current Composition of the Joint IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC)

Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

Executive Secretary

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

Vice-Chairpersons

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE
Directrice de Recherche
Centre national de la recherche scientifique
(CNRS)
3 rue Michel Ange
75016 Paris
FRANCE

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 Dr Karim HILMI
Head of Oceanography Department
Institut National de Recherche
Halieutique (INRH)
02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane
Ain Diab
20180 Casablanca
MOROCCO

COMPOSITION OF THE JOINT IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC)

1.	IHO Appointed Members:		Term Period
	Vice Adm. (ret) Shin Tani Mr David Millar Mr Evert Flier (Chair) Cpt. Rodrigo de Souza Obino Dr Geoffroy Lamarche	(Japan) (USA) (Norway) (Brazil) (New Zealand)	(2018-2023) * (2018-2023) (2019-2024) (2019-2024) (2021-2026)
2.	IOC Appointed Members:		Term Period
	Lt. Dr Karolina Zwolak Dr Marzia Rovere (Vice-chair) Dr Kim Picard Cdr. Prashant Kumar Srivastava Mr Paul M. Brett	(Poland) (Italy) (Australia) (India) (Canada)	(2018-2023) (2019-2024) * (2021-2026) (2021-2026) (2022-2027)
3.	Ex-officio Members:		
	Ms Aileen Bohan Mr George Spoelstra Dr Hyun-Chul Han Mr Timothy Kearns Ms Jennifer Jencks	(Ireland) (Netherlands) (Republic of Korea) (USA) (USA)	(Chair of SCRUM) ** (Chair of TSCOM) ** (Chair of SCUFN) (Chair of SCOPE) ** (Director of IHO-DCDB)
4.	Secretary:		Term Period
	Mr Samuel Harper	(IHO)	(2021-2026)

Notes:

SCRUM: Sub-Committee on Regional Undersea Mapping TSCOM: Technical Sub-Committee on Ocean Mapping SCUFN: Sub-Committee on Undersea Feature Names

SCOPE: Sub-Committee on Communications, Outreach and Public Engagement

IHO-DCDB: IHO Data Centre for Digital Bathymetry

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term

^{**} Members were appointed at the GGC Intersessional meeting in February 2022