

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL MEXIПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter Nº 2932

(Available in English only)

IOC/VR/BA/ah 15 February 2023

- To : Members of IOC/TOWS-WG Members of Inter-ICG Task Teams Chairpersons of ICG/CARIBE-EWS, ICG/IOTWMS, ICG/NEAMTWS, ICG/PTWS
- Cc : Chairs of IOCAFRICA, IOCARIBE, IOCINDIO, and WESTPAC IOC Officers

Subject: Second draft Ocean Decade Tsunami Programme Research and Development Plan for comments

Following the establishment of the IOC Ocean Decade Tsunami Programme (ODTP) in 2021 and its registration as UN Decade Action 31 – "The Ocean Tsunami Programme", a Scientific Committee for the ODTP was formed in early 2022 (see IOC <u>Circular Letter 2876</u>) to develop a draft 10-Year Research, Development and Implementation Plan for the ODTP (ODTP R&D).

As a follow-up to IOC <u>Circular Letter 2921</u> by which the first draft ODTP R&D Plan was circulated for comments in December 2022, I am pleased to submit the second draft of the Plan and its Executive Summary for your consideration. The second version of the OTP R&D Plan annexed hereafter has benefitted from the comments and suggestions received from the Tsunami National Contacts, Tsunami Warning Focal Points and National Tsunami Warning Centres.

We count on your active participation to finalize the Plan that will be tabled at the 16th meeting of the IOC Working Group on Tsunamis and Other Hazards related to Sea Level Warning and Mitigation Systems (TOWS-WG) for its consideration and endorsement (2–3 March 2023). In the meantime, you are kindly invited to forward your initial comments to the Secretariat (c/o Mr Angelos Haidar (a.haidar@unesco.org) with copy to Mr Bernardo Aliaga (b.aliaga@unesco.org)).

.../...

Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

Executive Secretary

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

Vice-Chairpersons

FRANCE

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE Directrice de Recherche Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) 3 rue Michel Ange 75016 Paris

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 INDIA Dr Karim HILMI Directeur de Recherche Institut National de Recherche Halieutique (INRH) 02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane Ain Diab 20180 Casablanca MOROCCO We look forward to seeing you at the two inter-ICG Task Teams and TOWS-WG-XVI meetings.

With the assurances of my highest consideration, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

Enclosures (2): Ocean Decade Tsunami Programme Research and Development Plan (2nd draft, 5 February 2023) – English only

Executive Summary of the ODTP R&D Plan – English only