

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL MEXIPABITEЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ Illeis Ilcolus I

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

22 February 2023

To: Chairs of the ICG/CARIBE-EWS, ICG/IOTWS, ICG/NEAMTWS and ICG/PTWS, Chairs of the Inter ICG-Task Teams on Disaster Management and Preparedness and Tsunami Watch Operations

Cc: Alexander Frolov, Vice-chairperson of IOC and Chairperson of TOWS-WG Vladimir Ryabinin, IOC Executive Secretary and UNESCO Assistant Director General Bernardo Aliaga Rossel, IOC Tsunami Unit Head

Subject: Chairperson of the Tsunami Ready (TR) Coalition

It is with great pleasure that I am writing to inform you of the appointment of the Chairperson of the Tsunami Ready (TR) Coalition.

Through <u>Decision EC-55/3.5.1</u>, the IOC Executive Council at its 55th session approved the establishment of the UNESCO/IOC Tsunami Ready Recognition Programme (TRRP) and a Tsunami Ready Coalition, which aims to raise the profile of TRRP in collaboration with critical stakeholders across the UN system, interested regional organizations, national disaster management agencies, and the public.

After due consultations with the Chair of TOWS-WG, I have decided to appoint Dr. Laura Kong (USA) as Chairperson of the TR Coalition for the period 2023-2024. Dr. Kong has a solid professional background and extensive experience, with a clear understanding of tsunami preparedness. She has also demonstrated impressive working capacity, commitment, and high visibility in multiple domains. Dr. Kong's CV is attached to this letter.

The Chairperson of the TR Coalition is to serve for a period of two years and will be eligible for renewal once. The mandate includes proposing a governing structure to the TOWS-WG and being responsible for reporting activities and progress made in the TRRP to the TOWS-WG.

I wish every success to Dr. Laura Kong in this endeavour for the benefit of communities at risk of tsunami.

Yours sincerely,

RIE PROISI

Ariel Hernan Troisi IOC Chairperson

Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

Executive Secretary

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE Vice-Chairpersons

FRANCE

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE Directrice de Recherche Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) 3 rue Michel Ange 75016 Paris

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 INDIA Dr Karim HILMI Head of Oceanography Department Institut National de Recherche Halieutique (INRH) 02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane Ain Diab 20180 Casablanca MOROCCO