

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL МЕЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 2941

(Available in English, French, Russian and Spanish)

IOC/VR/XY/pbo 18 March 2023

To: Members of the IOC Executive Council

(National Coordinating Bodies for liaison with the IOC)

cc. : Other IOC Member States

Permanent Delegations to UNESCO and

National Commissions for UNESCO of IOC Member States

IOC Officers

Subject: Consultation process for the designation of applicants in the context

of the appointment of the Executive Secretary of the IOC/Assistant

Director-General of UNESCO

Following the announcement of the post, 145 applications were received by UNESCO Human Resources Management (HRM). After pre-screening by HRM, 18 applications were evaluated by the pre-selection committee composed of the Director of Human Resources (DIR/HRM) and the representative of the Director-General (CAB). The IOC Vice-Presidents, including the former Chair, participated in the exercise by providing technical expertise to the committee members.

Please find attached the list of eleven most highly qualified applicants pre-selected for the next phase of the recruitment process. Members of the IOC Executive Council will receive some additional details through a separate communication. Recipients of this list are asked to ensure an appropriate protection of personal data in accordance with UNESCO's Principles on Personal Data Protection and Privacy (https://www.unesco.org/en/privacy-policy) and applicable regulations and rules. Personal data shall be used solely for the purpose of undertaking this consultation process.

In accordance with article 8.2 of the IOC Statutes, consultation with the IOC Executive Council will take place at its 56th session, on 20 June 2023 at UNESCO Headquarters (ref. the list of the 40 Member States Members of the IOC Executive Council online).

The Council will, through secret ballot at an <u>in camera</u> session, establish a short list of <u>six</u> applicants for submission to the Director-General of UNESCO. This will conclude the Executive Council consultation for the appointment of the IOC Executive Secretary. Please refer to the IOC information document <u>1316 Rev.</u> for details.

Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

Executive Secretary

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

Vice-Chairpersons

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE
Directrice de Recherche
Centre national de la recherche scientifique
(CNRS)
3 rue Michel Ange
75016 Paris
FRANCE

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 Dr Karim HILMI
Directeur de Recherche
Institut National de Recherche
Halieutique (INRH)
02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane
Ain Diab
20180 Casablanca
MOROCCO

Only one official representative of a Member State of the IOC Executive Council will be present during the *in camera* session and vote. I therefore would like to request you to ensure that the **name of your country representative** is officially communicated to v.ryabinin@unesco.org by 19 May 2023.

If for any reason the designated Member State Representative is unable to be present on the date of the vote, they must officially nominate an alternate and inform the Executive Secretary (v.ryabinin@unesco.org) prior to the ballot.

Thanking you in advance for your careful attention to this matter, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

Enclosure: List of applicants pre-selected for the consultation with the IOC Executive Council

Annex I

LIST OF APPLICANTS PRESELECTED FOR THE CONSULTATION WITH THE IOC EXECUTIVE COUNCIL (in alphabetical order)

- 1. Mr Amro ABDELGAWAD (Egypt)
- 2. Ms Lilian BUSSE (Germany)
- 3. Ms Susan GARDNER (Mexico)
- 4. Mr Georgios HALARABUS (Greece)
- 5. Mr Vidar HELGESEN (Norway)
- 6. Ms Johanna HEYMANS (Namibia)
- 7. Mr Geoffroy LAMARCHE (New Zealand)
- 8. Mr Erik OLSEN (Norway)
- 9. Ms Martha ROJAS URREGO (Colombia)
- 10. Mr Ariel TROISI (Argentina)
- 11. Mr Martin VISBECK (Germany)