

unesco

Intergovernmental **INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION** Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO 32nd session of Assembly

- **Executive Council Elections**
- **RESULTS OF THE ELECTIONS**
 - **Secretariat**
 - 28 June 2023 **Room II**





Commission

Results of the voting procedure

(i) number of votes cast - 116 (same as announced after the vote) (ii) number of non-valid ballot papers received - 2 (iii) number of valid votes cast - 116 - 2 = 114number of valid votes cast -57+1 = 58(v) a further ballot is not needed.

- (iv) majority needed by any candidate for election(next integer immediately above half the



Unesco

Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Elected Officers - Chair

Yutaka Michida (Japan) (Electoral Group IV)





Elected Officers - Vicechairs

Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

> Electoral Group I - Marie-Alexandrine Sicre (France) Electoral Group II - Nikolay Valchev (Bulgaria) Electoral Group III - Juan Camilo Forero Hauzeur (Colombia) Electoral Group IV - Srinivasa Kumar Tummala (India) Electoral Group V - Amr Zakaria Hamouda (Egypt)





- 1. Canada
- 2. Germany
- 3. Iceland
- 4. Italy
- 5. Portugal

Executive Council elected Members – Group I 9 seats

- 6. Spain
- 7. Türkiye
- 8. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 9. United States of America





- 1. Romania
- 2. Ukraine

Executive Council elected Members – Group II 2 seats





- 1. Argentina
- 2. Brazil
- 3. Chile
- 4. Costa Rica

Executive Council elected Members – Group III 8 seats

- 5. Ecuador
- 6. Grenada
- 7. Panama
- 8. Peru





- 1. Australia
- 2. Bangladesh
- 3. China
- 4. Cook Islands

Executive Council elected Members – Group IV 7 seats

- 5. Pakistan
- 6. Republic of Korea
- 7. Thailand





- 1. Congo
- 2. Kenya
- 3. Gabon
- 4. Morocco

Executive Council elected Members – Group V 8 seats

- 5. Oman
- 6. Saudi Arabia
- 7. South Africa
- 8. Togo



unesco

Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission





10