

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL МЕЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO - 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: ioc.secretariat@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 3003

(Available in English and French)

IOC/VH/IFAG/XY 6 August 2024

To : IOC National Official Coordinating Bodies for Liaison with IOC

C.c. : Permanent Delegates / Observer Missions to UNESCO of IOC Member States National Commissions for UNESCO of IOC Member States Chair and Vice-Chairs of IOC and Major Subsidiary Bodies

## Subject: Re-constitution of the Open-ended Intersessional Financial Advisory Group for the period September 2024 – June 2025

In pursuance to <u>IOC Resolution EC-57/2</u> adopted by the IOC Executive Council at its 57th session (25–28 June 2024), the open-ended Intersessional Financial Advisory Group (IFAG) is being reconstituted under the chairmanship of Vice-chair Juan Camilo FORERO HAUZEUR. Technical secretariat support will be provided by Xenia Yvinec.

I invite IOC national coordinating bodies to designate members to work within the IFAG in accordance with its mandate as defined in the Terms of Reference (<u>Resolution XXVIII-3</u>).

In line with IOC Resolution EC-57/2, IFAG will not only work by correspondence as was the practice until now, but will have regular online meetings so as to ensure that Member States are appraised of and involved with all relevant development during the intersessional period, including the Draft Programme and Budget for 2026–2029 (43 C/5) preparations and the 'Consultation Process – IOC and the Future of the Ocean'.

It is therefore imperative that we have up-to-date nominative email addresses for all designated members. I would appreciate receiving your letters of nomination by 13 September 2024.

As per usual, all relevant documentation will be posted online as the work of the group progresses at <u>https://oceanexpert.org/event/2996</u> and, given the open-ended nature of the Group, all the information on its work will be shared with all Member States.

Yours sincerely,

[signature]

Vidar Helgesen Executive Secretary

Chairperson

Yutaka MICHIDA, Prof. Special Presidential Envoy for UN Ocean Decade The University of Tokyo (Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute) Kashiwanoha 5-1-5 2778564 Kashiwa JAPAN

Executive Secretary

Mr Vidar HELGESEN Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE Directrice de Recherche Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) 3 rue Michel Ange 75016 Paris

Dr Nikolay VALCHEV Director Institute of Oceanology Bulgarian Academy of Sciences 40 Parvi May Str. 9000 Varna BULGARIA

Vice-Chairpersons

FRANCE

Mr Juan Camilo FORERO HAUZEUR Executive Secretary Colombian Ocean Commission (COO) Avenida Ciudad de Cali No. 51 – 66 Edificio WBC, Oficina 306 111071 Bogotá, D.C. COLOMBIA

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 INDIA Prof. Amr Zakaria HAMOUDA President National Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries (NIOF) Qaitbay, Al-Anfoshi Alexandria EGYPT